6th Marine Corps District
The 6th Marine Corps District (MCD) today encompasses the eight southeastern states of Tennessee, the eastern portion of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi and Louisiana as well as Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Its primary mission is command and control of recruiting within the southeastern United States. The District Headquarters relocated to Parris Island in July of 1996 from Atlanta, GA. The 6th MCD was established in 1946. Prior to that year, the administration of voluntary enlistment was done at various Marine Corps Recruiting offices, posts, and stations throughout the South, coordinated through the Southeastern Recruiting District Headquarters in New Orleans.

Over the years, the District has borne several titles:

1937 – 1945 6th Reserve District

1946 – 1952 6th Marine Corps Reserve District

1953 – 1963 6th Reserve and Recruitment District

1964 – Present 6th Marine Corps District
6th Marine Corps District